RICAGV Press Release

The Rhode Island Coalition Against Gun Violence Announces Gun Safety Endorsed Candidates


CONTACT: Kat Kerwin, Director of Communications

The Rhode Island Coalition Against Gun Violence Announces Gun Safety Endorsed Candidates

Providence, Rhode Island (August 17, 2018) – The Rhode Island Coalition Against Gun Violence is excited to announce their endorsements for the 2018 election cycle. We are optimistic that these gun safety champions will make a real change in our communities, on our streets, and in our schools.

Federal and State

  • Sheldon Whitehouse for Senator
  • David Cicciline for House of Representatives
  • Jim Langevin for House of Representatives
  • Gina Raimondo for Governor
  • Dan McKee for Lt. Governor
  • Nellie Gorbea for Secretary of State
  • Seth Magaziner for Treasurer
  • Peter Neronha for Attorney General


  • Ana Quezada, District 2, Providence
  • Bridget Valverde, District 35, East Greenwich, North Kingstown, South Kingstown, Narragansett
  • Cynthia Armour Coyne, District 32, Barrington, Bristol
  • Dawn Euer, District 13, Jamestown, Newport
  • Donna Nesselbush, District 15, North Providence, Pawtucket
  • Elizabeth Crowley, District 16, Central Falls, Pawtucket
  • Erin Lynch Prata, District 31, Cranston, Warwick
  • Gayle Goldin, District 3, Providence
  • James Seveney, District 11, Bristol, Portsmouth, Tiverton
  • James Sheehan, District 36, Narragansett, North Kingstown
  • Jeanine Calkin, District 30, Warwick
  • Jennifer Douglas, District 34, Charlestown, Exeter, Hopkinton, Richmond, West Greenwich
  • Joshua Miller, District 28, Cranston, Providence
  • Louis DiPalma, District 12, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Tiverton
  • Maryellen Goodwin, Senate District 1, Providence
  • Melanie DuPont, District 22, Johnston, North Providence, Smithfield
  • Melissa Murray, District 24, North Smithfield, Woonsocket
  • Valarie Lawson, District 14, East Providence
  • Walter Felag, District 10, Bristol, Tiverton, Warren
  • William Conley, District 18, East Providence, Pawtucket


  • Jorge Elorza, Mayor of Providence
  • Gail Harvey, Cranston City Council
  • John Donegan, Cranston City Council
  • Lammis Vargas, Cranston City Council
  • Sarah Lee, Cranston City Council
  • Steven Stycos, Cranston City Council
  • Stephen Tranghese, Cranston City Council


  • Anastasia Williams, District 9, Providence
  • Arthur Handy, District 18, Cranston
  • Carlos Tobon, District 58, Pawtucket
  • Carol Hagan McEntee, District 33, Narragansett, South Kingstown
  • Christopher Blazejewski, District 2, Providence
  • Deborah Ruggiero, District 74, Jamestown, Middletown
  • Edith Ajello, District 1, Providence
  • Evan Shanley, District 24, Warwick,
  • Grace Diaz, District 11, Providence
  • Gregg Amore, District 65, East Providence
  • Jason Knight, District 67, Barrington, Warren
  • Jean-Philippe Barros, District 59, Pawtucket
  • Joseph Almeida, District 12, Providence
  • John Lombardi, District 8, Providence
  • Joseph McNamara, District 19, Cranston, Warwick
  • Julie Casimiro, District 31, Exeter, North Kingstown
  • Justine Caldwell, District 30, East Greenwich, West Greenwich
  • Katherine Kazarian, District 63, East Providence
  • Kathleen Fogarty, District 35, South Kingstown
  • Laufton Ascencao, District 68, Bristol, Warren
  • Lauren Carson, District 75, Newport
  • Lauren Niedel, District 40, Coventry, Foster, Glocester
  • Liana Cassar, District 66, Barrington, Riverside
  • Marcia Ranglin-Vassell, District 5, Providence
  • Mario Méndez, District 13, Providence
  • Mary Duffy Messier, District 62, Pawtucket
  • Mia Ackerman, District 45, Cumberland, Lincoln
  • Moira Walsh, District 3, Providence
  • Raymond Hull, District 6, North Providence, Providence
  • Rebecca Kislak, District 4, Providence
  • Scott Slater, District 10, Providence
  • Shelby Maldonaldo, District 56, Central Falls
  • Susan Donovan, District 69, Bristol, Portsmouth
  • Teresa Tanzi, District 34, Narragansett, South Kingstown
  • Terri Cortvriend, District 72, Middletown, Portsmouth
  • William Degnan, District 39, Exeter, Hopkinton, Richmond

Enter your address to find your polling place and see the candidates running in your area.

Recent News



We need YOU to join with us in our efforts to decrease gun violence by becoming a fundraising champion for 401Gives Day! 401Gives is on Monday, April 1st, 2024 from 6am 4/1 – 6pm on April 2.

RI Senate approves ‘safe-storage’ gun bill. What to know.

RI Senate approves ‘safe-storage’ gun bill. What to know.

The Rhode Island Senate overwhelmingly approved proposed new “safe-storage” requirements for guns on Tuesday night, despite warnings from a handful of Senators that the law will put law-abiding gun owners at risk “when seconds count.”