RICAGV Press Release

Congratulations to RICAGV Endorsed Candidates

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, November 7, 2018

CONTACT: Kat Kerwin, Director of Communications, kat@ricagv.org

Providence, Rhode Island (November 7, 2018)–The Rhode Island Coalition Against Gun Violence (RICAGV) congratulates the more than 60 RICAGV endorsed candidates at the Federal, State, and Municipal level who won their elections last night. Especially on the state level these are fantastic gains that will tilt the House and Senate decisively in favor of common sense gun regulation. We couldn’t be more excited to work with the numerous new and returning legislators in the General Assembly to make Rhode Island safer from the scourge of gun violence.

The RICAGV took the huge risk of opposing Speaker Mattiello and his A- NRA rating in his own district, and ultimately we fell a few votes short of unseating him. While we congratulate Speaker Mattiello on his hard fought victory, it does not change the fact that the multiple corruption scandals and poor decision making that have characterized his time as Speaker make him unfit for a leadership position. We call on all those in the legislature who support clean government that works for the people of Rhode Island to oppose Mattiello for Speaker of the House.

In order for Rhode Island to move forward on sensible firearm regulation, women’s rights, the economy, and other issues critical to the state’s success, it is imperative that the House move on from Mattiello’s corrupt, autocratic style of leadership. Rhode Islanders deserve better than a Speaker of the House who is beholden to the corporate gun lobby and other special interests. 

Federal and State

  • Sheldon Whitehouse for Senator
  • David Cicciline for House of Representatives
  • Jim Langevin for House of Representatives
  • Gina Raimondo for Governor
  • Dan McKee for Lt. Governor
  • Nellie Gorbea for Secretary of State
  • Seth Magaziner for Treasurer
  • Peter Neronha for Attorney General


  • Maryellen Goodwin, Senate District 1, Providence
  • Ana Quezada, District 2, Providence
  • Gayle Goldin, District 3, Providence
  • Walter Felag, District 10, Bristol, Tiverton, Warren
  • James Seveney, District 11, Bristol, Portsmouth, Tiverton
  • Louis DiPalma, District 12, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Tiverton
  • Dawn Euer, District 13, Jamestown, Newport
  • Valarie Lawson, District 14, East Providence
  • Donna Nesselbush, District 15, North Providence, Pawtucket
  • Elizabeth Crowley, District 16, Central Falls, Pawtucket
  • William Conley, District 18, East Providence, Pawtucket
  • Melissa Murray, District 24, North Smithfield, Woonsocket
  • Joshua Miller, District 28, Cranston, Providence
  • Erin Lynch Prata, District 31, Cranston, Warwick
  • Cynthia Armour Coyne, District 32, Barrington, Bristol
  • Bridget Valverde, District 35, East Greenwich, North Kingstown, South Kingstown, Narragansett
  • James Sheehan, District 36, Narragansett, North Kingstown


  • Jorge Elorza, Mayor of Providence
  • Steven Stycos, Cranston City Council
  • Lammis Vargas, Cranston City Council
  • John Donegan, Cranston City Council


  • Edith Ajello, District 1, Providence
  • Christopher Blazejewski, District 2, Providence
  • Moira Walsh, District 3, Providence
  • Rebecca Kislak, District 4, Providence
  • Marcia Ranglin-Vassell, District 5, Providence
  • Raymond Hull, District 6, North Providence, Providence
  • John Lombardi, District 8, Providence
  • Anastasia Williams, District 9, Providence
  • Scott Slater, District 10, Providence
  • Grace Diaz, District 11, Providence
  • Joseph Almeida, District 12, Providence
  • Mario Méndez, District 13, Providence
  • Arthur Handy, District 18, Cranston
  • Joseph McNamara, District 19, Cranston, Warwick
  • Evan Shanley, District 24, Warwick,
  • Justine Caldwell, District 30, East Greenwich, West Greenwich
  • Julie Casimiro, District 31, Exeter, North Kingstown
  • Carol Hagan McEntee, District 33, Narragansett, South Kingstown
  • Teresa Tanzi, District 34, Narragansett, South Kingstown
  • Kathleen Fogarty, District 35, South Kingstown
  • Mia Ackerman, District 45, Cumberland, Lincoln
  • Shelby Maldonaldo, District 56, Central Falls
  • Carlos Tobon, District 58, Pawtucket
  • Jean-Philippe Barros, District 59, Pawtucket
  • Mary Duffy Messier, District 62, Pawtucket
  • Katherine Kazarian, District 63, East Providence
  • Gregg Amore, District 65, East Providence
  • Liana Cassar, District 66, Barrington, Riverside
  • Jason Knight, District 67, Barrington, Warren
  • Laufton Ascencao, District 68, Bristol, Warren
  • Susan Donovan, District 69, Bristol, Portsmouth
  • Terri Cortvriend, District 72, Middletown, Portsmouth
  • Deborah Ruggiero, District 74, Jamestown, Middletown
  • Lauren Carson, District 75, Newport

Recent News



We need YOU to join with us in our efforts to decrease gun violence by becoming a fundraising champion for 401Gives Day! 401Gives is on Monday, April 1st, 2024 from 6am 4/1 – 6pm on April 2.

RI Senate approves ‘safe-storage’ gun bill. What to know.

RI Senate approves ‘safe-storage’ gun bill. What to know.

The Rhode Island Senate overwhelmingly approved proposed new “safe-storage” requirements for guns on Tuesday night, despite warnings from a handful of Senators that the law will put law-abiding gun owners at risk “when seconds count.”